Bio: Louise Miolin

Home»Bio: Louise Miolin

We run a Blogger Team for more than 20 young women living across regional, rural and remote Australia, or young women who are studying away from home. If you’re interested, join the team! Contact jess@countrytocanberra.com.au 


blogger bio picLearn a little more about our blogger Louise!

Describe yourself in 100 words.

Just a small town girl livin’ in a decidedly NOT lonely world. I’m from a town called Manjimup in the South West of WA, and I’ve recently moved to Perth to start my first year of a Literary and Cultural Studies major at Curtin University.  I love books, feminism and cups of tea. I don’t much love writing bios, but that’s ok. I’m one of four siblings, and the youngest of those by ten years. Currently my life is revolving around uni, college, volunteering, and sussing out city life. Hopefully at some point in the near future I’ll be able to go travelling to broaden my horizons and have some new adventures!

How old are you/what grade are you in?

18, in my first year of uni

What community/town do you live in?

I’m from Manjimup in the south west of WA but at the moment I’m living at a residential college in Perth.

Who is your role model?

I can’t pick just one! On a personal level there are so many incredible women in my life who I consider role models: my mum and older sisters, grandmothers, family friends. In terms of more “famous” role models, I have always admired Malala Yousafzai, Annabel Crabb, Yassmin Abdel-Magied… the list goes on!

What’s your favourite thing about living in rural Australia?

The general down to earth nature of the people, the tight knit community, the big trees, and being able to see the stars.

What do you do to relax/have fun?

Read, nap, go for walks, surround myself with excellent people.

What’s your favourite TV Show?

Arrested Development or Please Like Me

What’s your favourite quote?

“I tell you, we are here on earth to fart around, and don’t let anybody tell you any different” – Kurt Vonnegut

What’s your main goal/ambition right now?

Establish a good routine and balance of uni and other aspects of my life. Try new things, meet new people, and keep figuring out where I want to be right now and in the future!